Currumbin Eco-Parkland

Share Currumbin Eco-Parkland on Facebook Share Currumbin Eco-Parkland on Twitter Share Currumbin Eco-Parkland on Linkedin Email Currumbin Eco-Parkland link

Currumbin Eco-Parkland Activation Plan

Activation of the Currumbin Eco-Parkland project delivers on a commitment by the Queensland Government ahead of the 2020 election, to protect an important and unique 148-hectare parcel of land at Currumbin and transform it into the one of the largest eco-parks in Australia.

The Queensland Government acquired the site in November 2021 and has invested $31 million in the 2023-24 State Budget to support the activation of an Eco-Parkland offering fantastic recreational elements and providing a location for wildlife rehabilitation. The activation plan for the Eco-Parkland highlights efforts to preserve the unique site in the Gold

Currumbin Eco-Parkland Activation Plan

Activation of the Currumbin Eco-Parkland project delivers on a commitment by the Queensland Government ahead of the 2020 election, to protect an important and unique 148-hectare parcel of land at Currumbin and transform it into the one of the largest eco-parks in Australia.

The Queensland Government acquired the site in November 2021 and has invested $31 million in the 2023-24 State Budget to support the activation of an Eco-Parkland offering fantastic recreational elements and providing a location for wildlife rehabilitation. The activation plan for the Eco-Parkland highlights efforts to preserve the unique site in the Gold Coast hinterland, alongside native animals and bushland.

Throughout 2022 Economic Development Queensland led a comprehensive community engagement process and technical site assessments, including commissioning a full ecological study of the site, to design an activation plan which incorporates the strong ecological values of the site and community feedback.

Once activated, the Currumbin Eco-Parkland will feature sporting and recreational elements for family and community enjoyment, nature based recreational trails, protections for local koala habitats, including space for a new externally managed koala facility, small-scale vet unit and a dedicated fodder eucalypt plantation and provide opportunities for rehabilitation and appreciation of the natural environment.

Rehabilitation of the site will see revegetation lots created within the parklands and are proposed to be dedicated as a conservation park under the Nature Conservation Act to ensure natural and ecological values are protected and managed accordingly.

The new parkland is expected to enhance the Gold Coast’s global reputation as a tourist destination while protecting local flora and fauna for future generations.

The activation plan can be viewed here.


Consultation and how it informed the Activation Plan

EDQ’s work to date has included leading planning for the project, which included commissioning a full ecological study of the site and community engagement encompassing Traditional Owner representatives, local environmental groups, recreation, and sporting groups, as well as local residents to ensure everyone had an opportunity to put their ideas forward for the long-term future for the site. An Enquiry by Design workshop was also held, providing stakeholders with the opportunity to participate in an interactive workshop and help shape the direction of the project.

Questions

loader image
Didn't receive confirmation?
Seems like you are already registered, please provide the password. Forgot your password? Create a new one now.
  • Share Can we get a 2weeks notice of back burning for/on Hoffschildt Drive? on Facebook Share Can we get a 2weeks notice of back burning for/on Hoffschildt Drive? on Twitter Share Can we get a 2weeks notice of back burning for/on Hoffschildt Drive? on Linkedin Email Can we get a 2weeks notice of back burning for/on Hoffschildt Drive? link

    Can we get a 2weeks notice of back burning for/on Hoffschildt Drive?

    Teresia asked 21 days ago

    Thank you for the question.

    We are working closely with the Queensland Parks and Wildlife Service to set an exact date for the burn operation. The requirements of a controlled burn and the unpredictability of the weather prevents us from planning far ahead. Even a set date a few weeks in advance can be delayed or cancelled due to a change in weather.

    An update will be posted on the Have Your Say page as soon as a date has been set, which we intend to be two weeks prior to the date of the burn. Anyone subscribed to receive updates at the top of the Have Your Say page will also get an email notification when the date is posted.

    Additionally, light-up signs will be placed along Currumbin Creek Road advising of the upcoming burn.

  • Share Hi Guys. I live in Tierney Drive immediately opposite the proposed entry/exit points. I’m not sure if you are aware but this area is terrible for traffic noise. It is the acceleration point for loud motorbikes transitioning from the 60 to 80 zone. And regrettably for hooners at all times but especially during weekends and nights. Constantly in excess of 100km/h. I have no idea if the sound implications for wildlife but I would be conscious of vehicles entering and exiting onto this strip. I would strongly recommend either a reduction of the speed limit, knowing people will exceed it regardless. Or keeping it the same but with a speed camera. Or both. It’s only a matter of time before there’s flowers wrapped around more of those trees. on Facebook Share Hi Guys. I live in Tierney Drive immediately opposite the proposed entry/exit points. I’m not sure if you are aware but this area is terrible for traffic noise. It is the acceleration point for loud motorbikes transitioning from the 60 to 80 zone. And regrettably for hooners at all times but especially during weekends and nights. Constantly in excess of 100km/h. I have no idea if the sound implications for wildlife but I would be conscious of vehicles entering and exiting onto this strip. I would strongly recommend either a reduction of the speed limit, knowing people will exceed it regardless. Or keeping it the same but with a speed camera. Or both. It’s only a matter of time before there’s flowers wrapped around more of those trees. on Twitter Share Hi Guys. I live in Tierney Drive immediately opposite the proposed entry/exit points. I’m not sure if you are aware but this area is terrible for traffic noise. It is the acceleration point for loud motorbikes transitioning from the 60 to 80 zone. And regrettably for hooners at all times but especially during weekends and nights. Constantly in excess of 100km/h. I have no idea if the sound implications for wildlife but I would be conscious of vehicles entering and exiting onto this strip. I would strongly recommend either a reduction of the speed limit, knowing people will exceed it regardless. Or keeping it the same but with a speed camera. Or both. It’s only a matter of time before there’s flowers wrapped around more of those trees. on Linkedin Email Hi Guys. I live in Tierney Drive immediately opposite the proposed entry/exit points. I’m not sure if you are aware but this area is terrible for traffic noise. It is the acceleration point for loud motorbikes transitioning from the 60 to 80 zone. And regrettably for hooners at all times but especially during weekends and nights. Constantly in excess of 100km/h. I have no idea if the sound implications for wildlife but I would be conscious of vehicles entering and exiting onto this strip. I would strongly recommend either a reduction of the speed limit, knowing people will exceed it regardless. Or keeping it the same but with a speed camera. Or both. It’s only a matter of time before there’s flowers wrapped around more of those trees. link

    Hi Guys. I live in Tierney Drive immediately opposite the proposed entry/exit points. I’m not sure if you are aware but this area is terrible for traffic noise. It is the acceleration point for loud motorbikes transitioning from the 60 to 80 zone. And regrettably for hooners at all times but especially during weekends and nights. Constantly in excess of 100km/h. I have no idea if the sound implications for wildlife but I would be conscious of vehicles entering and exiting onto this strip. I would strongly recommend either a reduction of the speed limit, knowing people will exceed it regardless. Or keeping it the same but with a speed camera. Or both. It’s only a matter of time before there’s flowers wrapped around more of those trees.

    Andi asked 21 days ago

    Thank you for your feedback. 

    We appreciate your concern for the road conditions in your vicinity. Economic Development Queensland will be conducting roadwork activities in the future aimed at improving the road infrastructure immediately in front of the Currumbin Eco-Parkland. We’re working to ensure safe access to and from the Parkland area for vehicles and pedestrians, and investigations are ongoing.

    Currumbin Creek Road is a State-controlled road, and the Department of Transport and Main Roads would have more information regarding any potential changes to the speed limits. We recommend reaching out to them for further insight into planned or proposed modifications. They can be reached on:

    Phone: 07 5563 6600
    Email: southcoast@tmr.qld.gov.au

    To report dangerous driving and hooning in your area, we recommend reporting incidents to Report dangerous driving online (Reporting Hooning or Traffic / Marine Complaint | Queensland Police Service) or phone 13 HOON (13 46 66).

    Should you have any additional questions or require further assistance, please feel free to let us know.

  • Share What is planned for the light grey area in north east corner of property ; there is no legend on the plan indicating what the indented use is for this area. on Facebook Share What is planned for the light grey area in north east corner of property ; there is no legend on the plan indicating what the indented use is for this area. on Twitter Share What is planned for the light grey area in north east corner of property ; there is no legend on the plan indicating what the indented use is for this area. on Linkedin Email What is planned for the light grey area in north east corner of property ; there is no legend on the plan indicating what the indented use is for this area. link

    What is planned for the light grey area in north east corner of property ; there is no legend on the plan indicating what the indented use is for this area.

    Jimmy asked 3 months ago

    Thank you for your question. 

    Whilst all land within the project will be subject to ongoing land maintenance activities, efforts will focus on activating the land for community use in defined areas, as detailed in the activation plan.

  • Share The mountain bike riding community in SEQ and the Northern Rivers region is an extremely active interest group. It is a significantly large and diverse demographic. It is hoped that EDQ are taking this community's wishes into consideration equally with other interest groups when planning trails in this inclusive 'community' park project. Any word yet on when the community can see and assess what you've been up to since that meeting in 2022? on Facebook Share The mountain bike riding community in SEQ and the Northern Rivers region is an extremely active interest group. It is a significantly large and diverse demographic. It is hoped that EDQ are taking this community's wishes into consideration equally with other interest groups when planning trails in this inclusive 'community' park project. Any word yet on when the community can see and assess what you've been up to since that meeting in 2022? on Twitter Share The mountain bike riding community in SEQ and the Northern Rivers region is an extremely active interest group. It is a significantly large and diverse demographic. It is hoped that EDQ are taking this community's wishes into consideration equally with other interest groups when planning trails in this inclusive 'community' park project. Any word yet on when the community can see and assess what you've been up to since that meeting in 2022? on Linkedin Email The mountain bike riding community in SEQ and the Northern Rivers region is an extremely active interest group. It is a significantly large and diverse demographic. It is hoped that EDQ are taking this community's wishes into consideration equally with other interest groups when planning trails in this inclusive 'community' park project. Any word yet on when the community can see and assess what you've been up to since that meeting in 2022? link

    The mountain bike riding community in SEQ and the Northern Rivers region is an extremely active interest group. It is a significantly large and diverse demographic. It is hoped that EDQ are taking this community's wishes into consideration equally with other interest groups when planning trails in this inclusive 'community' park project. Any word yet on when the community can see and assess what you've been up to since that meeting in 2022?

    Woz asked 5 months ago

    Thank you for your question and attending the enquiry by design workshop in 2022.

     

    EDQ received a similar question last week, you can find our response here. The plan for the site is still being considered by the Queensland Government and will be released soon.  

    As we move into the next phase of the project, the rehabilitation and development of the site will take a number of years to complete and is expected to open in 2026.

  • Share Why have you not planned more mountain bike trails to cater for all levels of riders? on Facebook Share Why have you not planned more mountain bike trails to cater for all levels of riders? on Twitter Share Why have you not planned more mountain bike trails to cater for all levels of riders? on Linkedin Email Why have you not planned more mountain bike trails to cater for all levels of riders? link

    Why have you not planned more mountain bike trails to cater for all levels of riders?

    BlackDiamonds asked 5 months ago

    Thank you for your question.


    During 2022, EDQ ran public consultation through an enquiry by design process to understand the community’s desired vision for the site which included different recreational elements. The plan for the site is still being considered by the Queensland Government and will be released in due course. 

    To stay up to date on future Currumbin Eco-Parkland announcements, please follow this project page.

  • Share There is a large amount of dead wood in areas that now incorporate the parkland. How is fire prevention being managed as part off the parkland, and who can we contact to discuss fire concerns further? on Facebook Share There is a large amount of dead wood in areas that now incorporate the parkland. How is fire prevention being managed as part off the parkland, and who can we contact to discuss fire concerns further? on Twitter Share There is a large amount of dead wood in areas that now incorporate the parkland. How is fire prevention being managed as part off the parkland, and who can we contact to discuss fire concerns further? on Linkedin Email There is a large amount of dead wood in areas that now incorporate the parkland. How is fire prevention being managed as part off the parkland, and who can we contact to discuss fire concerns further? link

    There is a large amount of dead wood in areas that now incorporate the parkland. How is fire prevention being managed as part off the parkland, and who can we contact to discuss fire concerns further?

    MichaelSp asked 9 months ago

    Thank you for your query.

    Economic Development Queensland is working in consultation with Queensland Parks and Wildlife Services to ensure the property is as prepared for the bushfire season as possible. While there is still much work to be done the fire trails are being maintained and fuel load reduced where possible. Further consultation with the Rural Fire Service is planned for October 2023 and potential control burns in 2024. The volume of dead trees is being attributed to the soil saturation earlier this year, the balance of ecological protection and fire risk are being considered as part of the 2024 program of works.

  • Share I live along the road that now has a large strip of land forming part of this park. Is it possible to speak with biodiversity Australia, whilst they are in the area about what we as residents can do to help maintain this land and restore it to its natural form? We have a lot of grass and Singapore Daisy in the undergrowth. Thank you on Facebook Share I live along the road that now has a large strip of land forming part of this park. Is it possible to speak with biodiversity Australia, whilst they are in the area about what we as residents can do to help maintain this land and restore it to its natural form? We have a lot of grass and Singapore Daisy in the undergrowth. Thank you on Twitter Share I live along the road that now has a large strip of land forming part of this park. Is it possible to speak with biodiversity Australia, whilst they are in the area about what we as residents can do to help maintain this land and restore it to its natural form? We have a lot of grass and Singapore Daisy in the undergrowth. Thank you on Linkedin Email I live along the road that now has a large strip of land forming part of this park. Is it possible to speak with biodiversity Australia, whilst they are in the area about what we as residents can do to help maintain this land and restore it to its natural form? We have a lot of grass and Singapore Daisy in the undergrowth. Thank you link

    I live along the road that now has a large strip of land forming part of this park. Is it possible to speak with biodiversity Australia, whilst they are in the area about what we as residents can do to help maintain this land and restore it to its natural form? We have a lot of grass and Singapore Daisy in the undergrowth. Thank you

    Mspnca83 asked 11 months ago

    Thank you for your message. We’re excited that you have contacted us and are interested in regenerating your property, a decrease in weeds entering the Eco-parkland helps enormously. 

    We have no objection to you directly contacting Biodiversity Australia for advice, I’d recommend calling them on 1300 319 954 and mentioning that you have been in touch with Economic Development Queensland and would like to talk with a member of the team working in Currumbin about control options for your property. Biodiversity Australia is engaged as a contractor to undertake weed control on our behalf within the Currumbin Eco-Parkland. Another contractor who is providing advice on the restoration of the site is Gold Coast Botany - Gold Coast Botany - Local plants, natural solutions.

    As further announcements about the Currumbin Eco-parkland and the project progresses there will be opportunity for community involvement and education as well. 

    Other useful contacts for free advice on regeneration include:  

  • Share Where will the MTB trails be located for experienced riders? on Facebook Share Where will the MTB trails be located for experienced riders? on Twitter Share Where will the MTB trails be located for experienced riders? on Linkedin Email Where will the MTB trails be located for experienced riders? link

    Where will the MTB trails be located for experienced riders?

    BlackDiamondsPlease asked 11 months ago

    A formal cycle connection into the Eco-Parkland from Currumbin Creek Road is being considered to encourage active transport (subject to traffic engineering and DTMR review). The final design for the master plan will be announced in the coming weeks.

  • Share Can you please extend the Currumbin border trails into the new park land? on Facebook Share Can you please extend the Currumbin border trails into the new park land? on Twitter Share Can you please extend the Currumbin border trails into the new park land? on Linkedin Email Can you please extend the Currumbin border trails into the new park land? link

    Can you please extend the Currumbin border trails into the new park land?

    MTB asked 11 months ago

    The Eco-Parkland will provide over 4 kilometres of walkable trails for recreation and public enjoyment. However, at this stage a formal connection to the border trail is not anticipated. 

  • Share What is happening since last workshop in September ? As our residence is a adjoining property we would appreciate being kept informed with what activities are planned and occurring on the site e.g. weed control, fire protection, security, site investigations, public access and like. on Facebook Share What is happening since last workshop in September ? As our residence is a adjoining property we would appreciate being kept informed with what activities are planned and occurring on the site e.g. weed control, fire protection, security, site investigations, public access and like. on Twitter Share What is happening since last workshop in September ? As our residence is a adjoining property we would appreciate being kept informed with what activities are planned and occurring on the site e.g. weed control, fire protection, security, site investigations, public access and like. on Linkedin Email What is happening since last workshop in September ? As our residence is a adjoining property we would appreciate being kept informed with what activities are planned and occurring on the site e.g. weed control, fire protection, security, site investigations, public access and like. link

    What is happening since last workshop in September ? As our residence is a adjoining property we would appreciate being kept informed with what activities are planned and occurring on the site e.g. weed control, fire protection, security, site investigations, public access and like.

    Jimmy asked over 1 year ago

    Thank you for your question.

    Since completing our community consultation, we have been working hard on the master plan with our consultant and government agency delivery partners.  

    The master plan is currently being reviewed by all levels of government. A decision on what will be delivered on the site is expected by mid-2023.

    Currumbin Eco-Parkland remains closed to public access until a decision is made. 

    Economic Development Queensland is continuing to maintain the parkland including weed control.

    Thank you.

     

Page last updated: 05 Jun 2024, 11:47 AM